South Carolina law prohibits any involved party from leaving the scene of a car accident other than temporarily going to report the accident to the authorities. Unfortunately, not all people obey the law, and hit-and-run accidents occur. This can be a very stressful and overwhelming experience. Our South Carolina car accident attorney is here to help if you have been involved in a hit-and-run accident.
What to Do After a Hit And Run Accident
After a hit-and-run accident, the most important thing is to call 911 and file a police report. You should also seek medical attention promptly. If you can, take note of any information about the other vehicle and accident scene, such as license plate and details about the other car and driver. If anyone witnessed the incident, try to get their contact details.
Although leaving the scene of an accident is a crime with serious implications, many drivers never face the consequences of their actions. If the police are unable to locate the driver, you may need to seek the advice of an attorney to file an uninsured motorist claim.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Most people who leave the scene of the accident do so because they lack car insurance, were driving under the influence or had other legal problems they feared would come up if police were called. Even if a hit and run driver is not found, you still have options for recovering compensation for your injuries or property damage.
South Carolina requires uninsured motorist coverage for all drivers. Specifically, every driver must have minimum injury coverage of $25,00 per person or $50,000 for all involved. This covers medical costs, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Every driver must also carry minimum property damage coverage of $25,000.
To recover from this portion of your insurance, you file a suit against the “John or Jane Doe” who abandoned the accident scene.
To access this coverage, you must meet some requirements:
- You must report the accident promptly after it happens.
- Your crash and injuries must have resulted from contact with the other car or something the car did to cause you to crash.
- You are not careless in identifying the hit-and-run driver.
Seeking coverage under your uninsured motorist policy can be difficult to go alone. Having an experienced personal injury attorney on your side can be invaluable after a hit-and-run accident and lead to a better outcome.
Speak With An Attorney
It is not uncommon for individuals to find the uninsured motorist insurance process challenging to navigate. Most people understandably do not like dealing with legal matters or insurance companies alone.
If you have questions about uninsured motorist coverage in South Carolina or need an attorney for your pending case, we can help. Do not delay seeking help as you have three years to sue on a claim, with some exceptions. Contact our office today for a free consultation.